Menu:

Transfer Action Modifications

Stargrunt II games often result in the "commander in the corner" syndrome. Due to the transfer action rules, there is no incentive to place a command unit anywhere but in the corner of the board somewhere, safe from fire and out of line of sight of the units in its command. This is due to the fact that once the command unit is out of the 6" command radius of a unit it needs to communicate with, a communication roll is needed regardless of whether the subordinate unit is 7" ahead in clear terrain, or 48" away behind hills and woods. It makes sense, then, to place the commander somewhere safe where it doesn't have to move.

Another oddity is the 6" command radius rule. If a commander is within 6" of a subordinate unit, he doesn't have to make a communication roll. This is the case if the commander is actually attached to the subordinate unit, or the subordinate unit is on the other side of a building. As long as the two units are within 6", no communication roll is needed.

This rule modification gives a command unit an incentive to stay closer to the troops it commands.

When a command squad attempts to transfer an action to a subordinate squad, a communication roll may or may not be necessary. If it is necessary, there may or may not be a modifier to the communication roll. The conditions for communication rolls are as follows:

  1. If the subordinate squad is within 6" and in line-of-sight (LOS) of the command squad, no communication roll is necessary. The Transfer Action occurs automatically.
  2. If the subordinate squad is within 6" of the command squad but there is no LOS between the two units, a regular communications roll is needed to conduct a Transfer Action.
  3. If the subordinate squad is more than 6" away from the command unit but the command unit does have LOS to the subordinate unit, a regular communications roll is needed to conduct a Transfer Action.
  4. If the subordinate squad is more than 6" away from the command unit and the command unit does not have LOS to the subordinate unit, a communications roll with a -1 modifier to the die roll is needed to conduct a Transfer Action.